No announcement yet.

Victory at work =)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Potential SA Triggers : Victory at work =)

I wanted to share a little victory story that happened at work this week, but it's medical and some people might not like that. Thus, the warning.

I'm a nurse on an intermediate care floor (one step under ICU). Well, I've been struggling with certain skills for a while and that's been knocking my confidence down. Well this week I was able to start a catheter with no issues! That's huge for me. I've had to ask for help and it's embarrassing at this point in my career. So something finally clicked and it was easy! And then, another nurse asked me to start an IV in a patient that two nurses couldn't get. And I went in and got it first try! (Another skill I've been trying to improve on) It just made me feel so good! Like I was competent and maybe I am pretty good! I left that day beaming. Feeling pretty good about myself.
    "My health may fail and my spirit may grow weak, but the LORD remains the strength of my heart. He is mine forever."

Ashley, both of those are terrific things! I'm so glad something clicked with placing the catheter, and I hope it will continue to be easier! And I'm sure it meant a lot not only to you, to get the IV in the first time, but it also was a real blessing to the patient. Way to go!
    Catie

Comment